What is the difference between Western Astrology and Vedic Astrology?


In both Eastern and Western astrology, the 360-degree zodiac belt is divided into twelve distinct zodiac signs, comprised of 30 degrees, each possessing a general set of attributes.

The essential difference between Western and Eastern astrology is the use of different zodiac systems. Western astrologers use the tropical system of astrology based on a fixed map of the position of the stars when Western astrology began around 3,000 years ago. Eastern, or Sidereal, Astrology follows the current position of the stars.

As the Earth spins on its axis, it experiences a bit of a wobble. As such the stars and constellations do not remain in a fixed state, in fact each star moves roughly one degree every 70 odd years. So today—in 2022—the incremental difference (referred to as the ayanamsha) between both systems is approximately 23˚.

While Western astrology does not take this shift into account, the sidereal system recognizes the discrepancy and incorporates it into the birth chart. This is the reason planets in your Eastern chart (less than 23 degrees) will be found in the preceding sign of the one you are accustomed to in your Western chart. For example, your Sun in Taurus may change to Aries in the East. And if a planet is more than 23 degrees, it will remain in the same sign in both Eastern and Western charts. For example, if your Sun is in Aries at 28˚, it will stay in Aries but at 5˚ (after subtracting 23 degrees).

Following are the dates of the Vedic Sun signs. These dates are approximate as they may vary slightly from year to year:


Your Vedic Sun Sign


Aries (Mesha):             April 12–May 12

Taurus (Vrishaba):      May 13–June 13

Gemini (Mithuna):       June 14–July 14

Cancer (Karka):            July 14–August 14

Leo (Simha):                 August 15–September 14

Virgo (Kanya):              September 15–October 15

Libra (Tula):                  October 16–November 14

Scorpio (Vrishchika):   November 14–December 13

Sagittarius (Dhanu):    December 14–January 13

Capricorn (Makara):    January 14–February 11

Aquarius (Kumbha):    February 12–March 12

Pisces (Meena):            March 13–April 11